Baofeng Temple is one of the four famous temples of south Guangdong, with a history of more than 600 years. It is a good place to visit and benediction. Since Buddhism was spread to the Eastern in Jin Dynasty, there had been many eminent monks who built temples and disseminated Buddhism in Xiqiao Mountain area and the popularity of Buddhism and temples reached its peak at Ming Dynasty. Baofeng Temple is famous for the fact that Master Huilian used to disseminate Buddhism here. The temple was built in 1404 (reign of Yongle Emperor during Ming Dynasty) and re-constructed in 1479 (reign of Chenghua Emperor). Unfortunately, the temple had gone through all the vicissitudes of history since its prime and only dilapidated walls are left now.
To answer the call from various circles of the society, the relative authority agreed to re-build Baofeng Temple at a different place - Snake Hillock of Shibei Village in the Xiqiao Mountain area. The new site is 180 meters in length from the south to the north, 120 meters in width from the east to the west, with an area of 21,600 m2. The entrance and Da Xiong Bao Dian (the main palace) are set on the central axis. Bell Tower, Guanyin Temple, Dizang Temple, Wenshu Temple and Puxian Temple respectively sit on the both sides, along with Abbot Building and monk dormitory. The new temple is built with the architecture style of Ming Dynasty as previous, so that it keeps the elegance and simplicity of the original temple as much as possible.
The first hall in Baofeng Temple is Tianwang Hall. The first thing in sight is a status of a paunchy Buddha with smiles all over his face - Maitreya Buddha, also known as the Laughing Buddha. Behind the status, there is a majestic-looking status of Skanda Buddha, who wears a suit of armour and has vajra in his hands, also known as Weituo Tian. Four giant Buddha statues stand beside him, namely "Four World-Protecting Deva Kings". They are commonly called as "Four Guardian Warriors", representing seasonable weather for crop raising.
The Bell Tower and the Drum Tower are located at the two sides of the square. In the right front of the square, there is a grand relief sculpture of pharmacists gathering on the sea.
The main palace of Baofeng Temple is Da Xiong Bao Dian, which, after a grand inauguration and Buddha consecration ceremony on January 28, 2007, was officially opened to the public. Da Xiong Bao Dian enshrines Triratna Buddha, namely Shakyamuni Buddha, Medicine Buddha and Amita Buddha. Mahakasyapa sits at the left side of Shakyamuni Buddha while Ananda, at the right.
There are two halls at the both sides of Da Xiong Bao Dian. Left-hand side is Puxian Hall, used to worship Samantabhadra Bodhisattva (Puxian) while the right-hand side is Wenshu Hall, enshrining Manjusri Bodhisattva (Wenshu), also known as the Greatly Wise Bodhisattva. At the back of Wenshu Hall, there is a dining hall, providing all kinds of delicious vegetarian food for tourists.